Annals of American History: An incredible collection of primary documents that have impacted American History, the Annals of American History Online has an easy search interface and even a timeline of American History. Commentary of each of the primary documents provides a context for understanding the document's importance and impact.
Encyclopedia Britannica: Encyclopaedia Britannica is certainly the most famous encyclopedia in the world and for good reason. High quality articles, easy search features, and high quality illustrations make this source a fast way to get information. This is usually the first place librarians recommend searching if you don't know a lot about your subject.
eLibrary Curriculum: With thousands of full-text journals, magazines, reference books, transcripts, audio and video files, eLibrary provides one stop shopping to student researchers and teachers alike.
Gale Virtual Reference Library: Some of our most popular reference books in the library are available to you in digital form with every page searchable and printable. Current multi-volume works available to students are: the American Decades series, Arts and Humanities Through the Eras, Encyclopedia of American Religions, Encyclopedia of Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual and Transgendered History, Encyclopedia of the Great Depression, Feminism in Literature, Gale Encyclopedia of Multicultural History, Gale Encyclopedia of Psychology, Novels for Students, Political Theories for Students, Psychologists and Their Theories for Students, and the UXL Complete Health Resource.
Planeta Saber: Gran Enciclopedia Planeta, the cornerstone of the PlanetaSaber product, is the most comprehensive Spanish language encyclopedia available today. It features 145,000 articles plus timelines, an atlas, and a dictionary.
ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Providing actual digital images of every page of a newspaper, ProQuest Historical Databases allows students and teachers to have access to primary documents for their research. The New York Times 1851-2001, The Christian Science Monitor 1908-1991, The Los Angeles Times 1881-1984, The Washington Post 1877-1988, The Chicago Tribune 1847 to the present, The Hartford Courant 1764-1984, The Atlanta Constitution 1868-1944, and The Wall Street Journal 1889-1987 are all included and provide images of the original photographs and illustrations, obituaries and births, and actual advertisements on each digitally scanned page.
ProQuest History Study Center: Offering comprehensive overviews of eras and regions in U.S., European, and World history, this database also offers users maps, images, primary, and secondary documents to support research or enhance understanding. This database is particularly suited to history students in World History, U.S. History or AP classes who need a variety of secondary and primary sources, or who require an intensive overview of an era or issue (i.e., McCarthyism).
Science in Context: This database seeks to make available science information covering several disciplines, with levels ranging from absolute beginner to sophisticated graduate student. Videos, magazine and journal articles all complement the many reference sources and websites cataloged in Science in Context.
SIRS Knowledge Source: Thousands of highly targeted documents, primary source documents, websites, and multimedia (including 13,000+ research-quality images) represent viewpoints from the pros and cons, to everything in-between.
Student Resources in Context: Student Resources in Context is an engaging online experience for those seeking contextual information on a broad range of topics, people, places, and events. The new solution merges Gale's authoritative reference content with full-text magazines, academic journals, news articles, primary source documents, images, videos, audio files and links to vetted websites organized into a user-friendly portal experience combined with new features such as "Search Assist" and quick fact boxes.
World Data Analyst: A rich collection of current and past statistics on the countries of the world that makes historical and cross-national comparisons easy by allowing users to select more than one country and compare statistics across a variety of areas.
POWER Library is the online portal to all that Pennsylvania libraries offer. This is the place to find trustworthy answers to questions about healthcare, consumer purchases, personal finances, and much more. Enjoy free 24/7 access to newspapers, magazines, journals, historical documents and photos, online databases, and eBooks. Research a subject. Learn about your family history. Locate a title. Explore career options. It’s all here at POWER Library. *NOTE TO ACCESS THESE DATABASES OFF CAMPUS YOU WILL NEED A LUZERNE COUNTY LIBRARY CARD.